Eyelash Extension Certification in Maryland

Becoming an eyelash technician in Maryland is difficult, but not impossible. A training course will help you succeed as an eyelash artist by preparing you for the job. To benefit from the training, you need to be motivated and committed. Follow the requirements to get Maryland eyelash extension certification.


To receive eyelash extension certification training, you must have a cosmetology license issued by the Maryland Board of Cosmetologists. To do this, you need to do the following:


The first step is to get the right education and training. Before you complete an apprenticeship, you must meet the following requirements:

  • be 17 years old
  • 9th grade completed

You must complete 1500 hours of education at a school approved by the state school board. Most cosmetology schools in Maryland divide their programs into hands-on phases and instructional phases. For the first 350 to 400 hours of class, you will study in the classroom from textbooks and lectures. During the practical phase you will be asked to practice on guests of the school clinic. These programs will help you develop and hone your skills.


After completing the training hours, you must now take the exams administered by Prometric testing centers. You must submit an application for the exams along with a fee of $80. Two types of exams you need to take:


This part consists of 100 multiple choice questions. You have to finish it within two hours.


You have to show the skills on a doll head and bring your own eyelash accessories. You have 195 minutes to prove yourself.


After you pass the exams in Maryland, you can apply for the license. You can apply via the online application system. The fee is $25, which you can pay by credit card. After approval of the application, the cosmetics license will be issued.


In Maryland, the license expires two years from the date of issue. During this time, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew the license. One hour is spent in each of the following areas:

  • Occupational health and safety regulations
  • State Law
  • Communicable Diseases
  • Disinfection, hygiene and sterilization

The remaining 12 hours can be taken on any cosmetic-related topic and can be fulfilled through online or hands-on classes, as well as correspondence or video classes.

License renewals are performed online. The fee is $25, which you can pay by credit card.


After acquiring a cosmetics license, you can receive training for a certificate in eyelash extensions. There are various institutes and salons in Maryland that offer both online and hands-on training. Some have a day or two of training and others offer four days of training:

  • Fundamentals of Eyelash Extension Application Course
  • Certification in application course for eyelash extensions

By following these steps, you can become the eyelash extension boss and run your own beauty salon in Maryland.


  • Lourdes

    I m interested in obtaining the certificate os eyelash extension

  • Silvia Torres

    Buenas tardes!! Estoy interesada en el curso de pestañas. Me gustaría saber donde son las clases aquí en essex Md. y el costo del mismo. Gracias de ante manos

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.