Becoming an eyelash technician in Maryland is hard but not impossible. A training course will help you to succeed as an eyelash artist by preparing you for the job. To benefit from the training, you must be motivated and committed. Follow the requirements to get the certificate to do eyelash extensions in Maryland.
To get the training for the certificate of eyelash extensions, you must have the license of cosmetology issued by the Maryland Board of Cosmetologists. For this, you have to follow these steps:
GET YOUR COSMETOLOGY EDUCATION AND TRAINING
The first step is to obtain the proper education and training. Before pursuing training, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be 17 years old
- You have completed 9th grade
You have to complete 1500 hours of training at a school approved by the state board of education. Most Maryland cosmetology schools divide their programs into practical and classroom phases. In the first 350 to 400 hours of education, you will get the classroom learning from textbooks and lectures. During the practical phase, you will be asked to practice on guests of the school’s clinic. These programs help you to develop and refine your skills.
PASS THE EXAMINATION
After completing the training hours, now you have to take the exams administered by Prometric testing centers. You have to submit an application for the exams along with an $80 fee. Two type of exams you have to take:
This portion consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. You have to complete it within two hours.
You have to bring your mannequin head and supply kit. There you will have 195 minutes to show your skills.
APPLY FOR LICENSE
After passing examinations in Maryland, you can apply for the license. You can apply through the online application system. The fee is $25 which you can pay via credit card. After approving your application, your cosmetology license will be issued.
In Maryland, the license expires after two years of the issuing date. During this period, you have to complete 16 hours of continuing education to renew your license. One hour is completed in each of the following areas:
- Occupational safety and health regulations
- State law
- Communicable diseases
- Disinfection, sanitation, and sterilization
The remaining 12 hours may be taken on any cosmetology-related topic and may be fulfilled through online or hands-on courses, as well as correspondence or video courses.
License renewals are performed online. The fee is $25 which you can pay via credit card.
EYELASH EXTENSION TRAINING PROGRAM
After having a cosmetology license, now you are eligible to get the training for a certificate of eyelash extensions. There are different institutes and salons in Maryland that are providing online as well as hands-on training. Some have one- or two-days training and others are providing four days training:
- Fundamentals of eyelash extensions application course
- Certification in eyelash extensions application course
By following these steps, you can become a boss of eyelash extensions and run your business in Maryland.