How to get certified to do eyelash extensions in Utah

Eyelash extensions are the everyday accessory that makes your eyes more prominent and attractive. You can become a technician of eyelash extensions. Many institutes in Utah are offering certificates of eyelash extensions. Utah, the state of the USA has its particular requirements for the eyelash certificate that you must be aware of.

Getting a certificate of eyelash extension is the first and important step towards your career. After having it you can establish your business and run a salon. To get a certificate of eyelash extension, you must have a license of cosmetology or esthetician from the board of cosmetology. The license is the foundation through which you can build your skills.

REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE

For getting a license of cosmetology and esthetician you have to graduate from any cosmetology school approved by the Utah board of regents. There are 50 cosmetology programs in Utah. Training hours are 1600.

EXAMINATION

After having training hours you will have to take both written and practical exams to get your license. You can take the exam through PSI services. First, you have to take a practical exam. In this exam, you have to provide a mannequin. You will have to demonstrate your abilities on the mannequin. The theory exam will be taken on a computer. One question will display at a time. Questions are MCQs type. After completion of the test, you will see the scores on the screen.

After graduating from cosmetology school and passing both exams you can apply for the professional and occupational license. For this, you have to complete and submit a cosmetology application packet.

Cosmetologist law and rule examination

While completing the application packet, you have to take a law and rule examination. This is like an open-book test. This test determines your knowledge about laws and rules.

After completing all requirements, you will receive your license. You can renew it when it expires.

CERTIFICATE

After having a license, you can apply for the certification training. The fee range of lash certification in Utah is varying from $300 to $2000 according to the kit, content, and duration. You have to attend hands-on workshops by the certified trainers. This is a full-day workshop.

EXAM

After attending the workshop, you will have to go through the certification exam of 3 hours. In the exam, you have to practice lashes on models. Exam includes:

  • 60 lashes per eye
  • Eyelashes placed evenly with no uneven spaces
  • No clumps of adhesive
  • No 2 eyelashes stuck together
  • Lashes curling in the right side
  • Take care of the safety, health, and satisfaction of the clients.

Some students also practice on non-paying models or friends for many weeks or even months before applying for the certification exam. 

In Utah, you can also have the facility to take online classes while sitting at home. Different institutes in Utah are offering the certification training of eyelash extensions. You can join them to become an artist or technician and run your salon. You just have to get your cosmetology or esthetician license then you can get training for a certificate of eyelashes extensions.


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published